Sanjay Kumar Agarwal assumes charge as CBIC Chairman

Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, an IRS officer of the 1988 batch, has taken over as the Chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC) from August 5, 2023. He succeeds Vivek Johri, who retired as CBIC chief on May 31. Agarwal was previously in charge of CBIC member compliance management and investigations. The CBIC is responsible for policy-making in indirect taxes such as GST, customs, and excise. The board is headed by a chairman and comprises six members, supported by principal chief commissioners, chief commissioners, principal director generals, and director generals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CargoNXT Conference & Recognitions On 26th October 2023

Explore the future of cargo and logistics. Don't miss out—participate now for cutting-edge insights and industry recognition.

You have Successfully Subscribed!