DP World to Develop a Mega-container Terminal at Deendayal Port

The Deendayal Port Authority has granted DP World the contract to build, operate, and maintain a mega-container terminal at Tuna-Tekra in Gujarat on a Build-Operate-Transfer basis (BOT). A public-private partnership (PPP) will spearhead the building of the terminal. 

The terminal will include an 1100-metre berth with a capacity to handle vessels carrying over 18,000 TEUs each, thus bringing the terminal’s total capacity to 2.19 million TEUs. It will be equipped with advanced facilities spanning over 63 hectares. Moreover, it will enjoy seamless connection to remote areas via roads, railways, and dedicated freight corridors. 

This development will complement Indian government initiatives like Gati Shakti and National Logistics Policy (NLP). It is also aligned with Vision 2047 to enhance the country’s port handling capacity by four times. 

This mega-terminal is expected to facilitate the development of multimodal logistics infrastructure, push container traffic growth, and serve the exports and imports from Northern, Central, and Western India. It shall also reduce logistics costs and improve supply chain efficiency. 

DP World is known to operate five marine terminals in Mumbai, Cochin, Chennai, and Mundra, with a total capacity of over 6 million TEUs. The new terminal at Tuna Tekra will spike its capacity to 8.19 million TEUs. The company is also developing new-age economic zones in Mumbai, Chennai, and Cochin.

Cargo Insights is now on WhatsApp Channel! Join Now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Celebrating Success Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions Part 1

Celebrating Success: Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions

🏆 Embarking on a Journey of Excellence in Cargo & Logistics! 


🚚✨ Witness the outstanding achievements of leaders celebrated at CargoNXT Recognitions: Late Jai Karan Sharma, Vipin Vohra, Dr. Vandana Singh, Keku Bomi Gazder, Dr. Pushpendra Pratap Singh, S. Ramakrishna, Shailender Anand, and Yashpal Sharma. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!