CMA CGM, Maersk join forces to cut shipping emissions

Quick Summary

Shipping giants CMA CGM and Maersk team up to reduce emissions through methanol and other potential fuels.

Container shipping leaders CMA CGM and Maersk have announced a partnership to combat emissions in the industry. Their cooperation aims to support the use of methanol and explore alternative fuels like ammonia. As the shipping sector strives for net-zero emissions by the mid-century, finding the right fuels and vessel technology is crucial.

Maersk, a Danish company, has been focusing on green methanol and recently established a new firm to produce this eco-friendly fuel. On the other hand, French-based CMA CGM has turned to gas-powered ships and has also placed orders for methanol-capable vessels.

Both companies acknowledge that while methanol is a promising solution, the future fuel mix for shipping may include other options. Their partnership will involve setting standards for green methanol vessel operation, expediting port readiness for methanol refueling, and exploring research into alternative fuels like ammonia.

Despite these efforts, the industry recognises that low-carbon fuels still need significant scaling to substantially reduce its carbon footprint, currently contributing about 3 percent of global emissions. CMA CGM is leading the transition to gas-powered ships and aims to develop biogas supplies for even greater emissions reductions compared to conventional gas.

Cargo Insights is now on WhatsApp Channel! Join Now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Celebrating Success Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions Part 1

Celebrating Success: Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions

🏆 Embarking on a Journey of Excellence in Cargo & Logistics! 


🚚✨ Witness the outstanding achievements of leaders celebrated at CargoNXT Recognitions: Late Jai Karan Sharma, Vipin Vohra, Dr. Vandana Singh, Keku Bomi Gazder, Dr. Pushpendra Pratap Singh, S. Ramakrishna, Shailender Anand, and Yashpal Sharma. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!