AP CM lays foundation for Rs 4,600 cr Bhogapuram airport

To promote the overall development of the North Andhra area, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy laid the cornerstone for the Rs 4,592 crore international greenfield airport in Bhogapuram village in Vizianagaram district on May 3. The airport, which will be built around 50 kilometres from the coastal city of Visakhapatnam, will span 2,203 acres, and have the potential to accommodate 60 lakh passengers annually. Construction is scheduled to be finished in 36 months.

According to Jagan Mohan Reddy, in a statement released by the state government on Wednesday, Bhogapuram Airport will initially serve 40 lakh passengers before expanding to four crores, becoming the hub for Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram, and Srikakulam districts and altering the appearance of North Andhra, a region infamous for mass migration. The CM mentioned that the airport would be able to handle the largest passenger Airbus A380 as well as a cargo complex, an aviation academy, and an aerocity thanks to its two runways. A six-lane highway would also connect Visakhapatnam and Bhogapuram, spanning a 60-kilometre distance, and its foundation stone will be laid in four months.

The GMR group, which is building the airport, has been urged by the CM to finish the job in two years. The CM predicted that by making North Andhra a centre of employment, it would soon experience reverse migration, drawing people from various areas.

Cargo Insights is now on WhatsApp Channel! Join Now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Celebrating Success Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions Part 1

Celebrating Success: Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions

🏆 Embarking on a Journey of Excellence in Cargo & Logistics! 


🚚✨ Witness the outstanding achievements of leaders celebrated at CargoNXT Recognitions: Late Jai Karan Sharma, Vipin Vohra, Dr. Vandana Singh, Keku Bomi Gazder, Dr. Pushpendra Pratap Singh, S. Ramakrishna, Shailender Anand, and Yashpal Sharma. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!