Indian Railways Has Increased Freight Revenue by 16 per Cent Over the Previous Year

The earnings of the Indian Railways from freight loading have increased by 16 per cent. From April to December 22, freight loading totaled 1109.38 MT, compared to 1029.96 MT the previous year. Thus, indicating an improvement of around 8 per cent over the last year’s statistics. In addition, the revenue generated this year has been around Rs 120478 crore, compared to Rs 104040 crore over the last year. Thus, surpassing the previous year’s targets by nearly 16 per cent, when compared to the same period.

Deep-diving into the December stats, on one hand, the originating freight loading of 130.66 MT against 126.8 MT has been achieved, i.e., an improvement of 3 per cent; on the other, the earnings from freight loading have been Rs. 14573 crore against Rs. 12914 crore last year, thereby showcasing an improvement of 13 per cent.

Talking about the same, the railway officials said, “Following the introduction of the scheme, “Hungry for Cargo,” IR has made sustained efforts to improve the ease of doing business as well as improve the service delivery at competitive prices, which has resulted in new traffic coming to the railways from both conventional and non-conventional commodity streams.” They further added, “The customer-centric approach and work of Business Development Units backed up by agile policy-making helped railroads towards this landmark achievement.”

Cargo Insights is now on WhatsApp Channel! Join Now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Celebrating Success Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions Part 1

Celebrating Success: Honouring Cargo & Logistics Industry Leaders at CargoNXT Recognitions

🏆 Embarking on a Journey of Excellence in Cargo & Logistics! 


🚚✨ Witness the outstanding achievements of leaders celebrated at CargoNXT Recognitions: Late Jai Karan Sharma, Vipin Vohra, Dr. Vandana Singh, Keku Bomi Gazder, Dr. Pushpendra Pratap Singh, S. Ramakrishna, Shailender Anand, and Yashpal Sharma. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!